5/11/16 – Bridgwater Carnival

For the event project, instead of using Tewkesbury mop fair and Stow horse fair, I’m going to use Tewkesbury mop fair and Bridgwater Carnival. Bridgwater Carnival is an annual event in my home town of Bridgwater in Somerset, celebrating Guy Fawkes. The pubs in the town each have their own carnival club, which spend the year coming up with a carnival cart and also performing their chosen theme in the carnival concerts. People travel from all over the country to view Bridgwater Carnival. I enjoyed photographing in the dark at Tewkesbury mop fair, so I felt I would also enjoy photographing under similar conditions here.

DSC_0214-.jpg

This is my little sister. It was her second carnival so as well as taking images of the event in general, I wanted to take images of her reactions to the carts and the loud music. I really like this image because her eyes are the main focus. Also, I like the detail in the fluffiness of her hat, I feel this is a strong image. This image was taken at an aperture of f14 and a shutter speed of 1/80. I enjoyed taking images of people which were lit by the lights on the carnival carts, as they all had a warm glow to them..
Such as this picture. These ladies were clapping every cart as it went buy, which I found very heartwarming. I like how sharp the reflections from the carts are in their glasses, again an attempt at making their eyes the main focus. This image was taken using an aperture of f14 and a shutter speed of 1/125.

dsc_0220

dsc_0255

I really like this image as it’s a different perspective to the usual photos we see of events such as this. I like how the carnival cart is in full view on his screen, and although it is a very small section of the image, it is the main focus. I also like how you can see that the cart has lit the people in the background, as well as the man’s face. This was taken using an aperture of f11 and a shutter speed of 1/50.

DSC_0233-.jpg

I like this image because of the divide in what is being lit and what isn’t. This image shows a particularly bright cart has just gone past and perhaps some walking acts or dancers are coming next, almost suggesting the exciting thing has gone and now something less exciting is coming and has made it dark again. I also just like this image because it shows how everyone likes to view carnival – some sat on the floor, some stood up, children in blankets etc. Furthermore, I like how the cart is still represented as we can see the reflection in the window behind, still putting these people into context. This was taken using an aperture of f11 and a shutter speed of 1/100.

dsc_0291

The thing I like about this photo is how the cart has produced these silhouettes because of how bright it is. I also like how this man is so in focus because the light has given a very sharp edge around the silhouette. This was taken using an aperture of f18, and a shutter speed of 1/100.

I like this sequence of images because it not only involves the silhouetted audience again, but it actually shows the dancers on the cart. I didn’t want these photos to be about the carts, as so many people take pictures of the carts; I wanted it to be more about the experience and the excitement of it all. But I feel this image shows both the cart and the experience, which I like. These were all taken at f13 at a shutter speed of 1/100.

This one cart in particular I thought was really interesting and i loved the lighting of it, I had to take multiple photos. I felt the lighting was perfect as it wasn’t as orange as it’s presented, and it allowed for the actors to be lit perfectly. I especially like the first image of the boy; I feel if you didn’t know this was a carnival cart it could be completely open for interpretation. These were all taken at f13 at a shutter speed of 1/100.

dsc_0432

I’m very happy with this image as this was an off-the-hip image as I was walking to meet a friend. I like it because everything looks so surreal, and the framing allows it to not look like a carnival cart at all. This was taken at f11 at a shutter speed of 1/100.

Leave a Reply

