Stories Project: UoG Trampolining

I have chosen to photograph the University of Gloucestershire trampolining team for my “Stories of Gloucestershire” project. They meet in Cheltenham on a Tuesday evening and Gloucester on a Thursday evening, so for the next few weeks I will be attending and taking images of their sessions. This evening was my first shoot with them and I personally don’t think it went as well as it could have. I firstly forgot to change my memory card so I couldn’t take any more than 60 RAW files on the 4GB card that I had on me. I also didn’t think the lighting was great and I need to either use a flash next time or explore different ways to reduce noise and gain greater details in these images. Due to the lighting I struggled to be able to take images above 1/250 shutter speed which were well lit, resulting in many having motion blur, which is not what I wanted. However, I got a few images which I liked out of this.

This first image I like because I managed to fully freeze the girl in motion. I also like how her fellow team mates are all looking up at her, in an almost adoring manner. However, this is a very noisy image due to using an ISO of 1600. I used an aperture of f5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/100, which surprised me as to how much there was a lack of motion blur.

dsc_0039jpeg

dsc_0066jpeg

This image was taken at an aperture of f3.8 and a shutter speed of 1/320. I like this image because again, there is a lack of motion blur, and with the position she is in, it gives her a very powerful demeanour. Again, I dislike how noisy the image is.

DSC_0093jpeg.jpg

I really like this image despite the noise. I like how sharp the trampoline wires are and how they seem to be the main point of focus, and then in the background are just a pair of feet. It leaves a lot open for interpretation – has this person just injured themselves? Are they about to do a big jump? Have they just given up and collapsed onto the trampoline? This image was taken using an aperture of f5 and a shutter speed of 1/200.

DSC_0121jpeg.jpg

This is another image that I really like. I like how there is a lot of negative space, yet your eye is still drawn to the subject. I also like how she has a relaxed, happy look on her face, as most of the facial expressions I witnessed during this session were quite stressed and flustered. This was taken using an aperture of f5.3 and a shutter speed of 1/200.

DSC_0099jpeg.jpg

Another image that I like because of the negative space. I also like the stance of all the subjects; I feel I caught the jumper at just the right time. This was taken using an aperture of f5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/200.

I really dislike these images quality/noise wise, however I feel I have managed to catch the subjects at just the right times and have managed to do so with minimal motion blur, which I am quite happy with. I feel a flash would have made these images a lot stronger. The first is taken with an aperture of f5.3 and a shutter speed of 1/200, the second is taken with an aperture of f5 and also a shutter speed of 1/200.

I found it very difficult to get tricks photographed at the right time. The first image I think is okay, but due to the noise it is of awful quality. The second I dislike because of the motion blur; motion blur is okay but when it’s done effectively, which I don’t feel it looks good enough to be used here. The first image is taken with an aperture of f5 and a shutter speed of 1/200. The second is taken with an aperture of f5.3 and a shutter speed of 1/160.

Overall I think I should have focused more on reducing noise, and should have tried to apply flash to freeze motion. I will use a speedlight on Thursday’s session, and use a lower ISO.

Leave a Reply

