Stories Update: Brandon Trust

As previously written about, I attended a UoG trampolining session on Tuesday 15th November. After reviewing the images I booked out a flash for my second session on Thursday 17th November. However, when I started to take images I was told that I could not use a flash whilst they were training due to issues with health and safety. After again attempting to take images without a flash I went home to rethink about this project.

I received an email in the week from The Brandon Trust, whom I have applied to volunteer for and who were my original Stories idea, which I had to change because of the amount of time it was taking to get my DBS check back. They asked if I could take images to cover their Christmas fayre on Saturday 19th November at Wallace House, which I accepted. I am very happy with how these photos turned out and am now currently in the process of finding out if there are any more events or groups that they provide for the charity which I could attend and photograph.

As the Brandon Trust works with people with disabilities and older people I was initially hesitant about taking pictures of the residents who were attending the Christmas fayre. However, many of them didn’t seem to mind and a few even posed for me, which was rather heartwarming.
As the event was indoors, the lighting wasn’t the best, however the walls were white and there was a few windows, and the door was open, all allowing for some available light to be used. Because of this I used an ISO of 1600.

dsc_0014jpeg

This is the angel which the “Knit and Natter” group put together. This group is one funded by the Brandon Trust and a lot of their work was on sale at this event. I like this image because it was just a test shot to view the lighting conditions, but I like the angle of it and I like how the lighting is slightly orange, it makes it feel quite warm. This image was taken at an aperture of f5.3 and a shutter speed of 1/320.

dsc_0044jpeg

I like this image as the cakes, specifically the mince pies, are in focus and in the white chocolate cakes the sponge is in good detail. I focused between the white chocolate cakes and the mince pies, as the chocolate ones were slightly shadowed, so I felt I’d rather have two types of cake in focus and one slightly less than risk all of their quality. However, the chocolate cakes do seem to be relatively well focused. I also like how the wall is white rather than the orange tone that I was getting a lot from the lighting. The fact that there was two square windows just adjacent to the cake stall helped with this. This image was taken using an aperture of f5.3 and a shutter speed of 1/160.

dsc_0102jpeg

I like this image as there seems to be a good use of depth of field: the lady looking at the books is sharp and clear whereas the people in the background are blurred, which allows the lady in the foreground to stand out. I also like the use of this yellow book which she is looking at, it adds an extra bit of unexpected colour to what is quite a dark, dull setting. This image was taken with an aperture of f5 and a shutter speed of 1/160.

(Big image: f5.3, 1/160. Top Right: f5.6, 1/160. Below: f5, 1/160. Bottom Right: f5.3, 1/160. Middle: f5, 1/160. Bottom Left: f5, 1/160)

(Top Left: f5.6, 1/60. Top Right: f5.6, 1/80. Middle Left: f5.6, 1/250. Middle Right 1: f5.6, 1/60. Middle Right 2: f5.6, 1/160. Bottom: f5.3, 1/160.)

As previously said, I found it a bit hard to get pictures of attendees of the event due to most of them being elderly or disabled in some way; I was hesitant to ask for their photos. However, I found many didn’t mind having their photos taken whilst browsing, which I found provided some quite nice images.

dsc_0317jpeg

This isn’t the best image in the selection in terms of quality, however I feel this image should be part of this project as it shows part of the story. The lady in the wheelchair is one of the people which The Brandon Trust helps and her attendance at the event with a friend provides an image to the story. I like this image because of how simple it is, yet effective in the way that it tells the story. It shows that this event isn’t just for the buying and selling at the stalls, but the social aspect for residents also. This image was taken with an aperture of f5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/60.

DSC_0139jpeg.jpg

I like this image due to the framing; although she is not looking at the camera, she is the focus due to being sharp and in the middle of the shot. This image was taken at an aperture of f5.3 and a shutter speed of 1/160.

(Top Left: f5.6, 1/160. Top Right: f5, 1/250. Below: f4.5, 1/160. Middle Left: f5.6, 1/80. Middle: f5.3, 1/200. Middle Right: f5.6, 1/200. Bottom Left 1: f5.6, 1/200. Bottom Left 2: f5.6, 1/60. Bottom Right 1: f5.6, 1/160. Bottom Right 2: f5, 1/80.)

As these photos are going to be used on The Brandon Trust’s social media accounts, I felt I needed to get as many photos as possible of people enjoying themselves and interacting with others. I felt I done this well and the fact that many of them are natural interactions and not posed adds to the story aspect of the event.

dsc_0165jpeg

I particularly like this image due to the break up of the picture with the hands in the foreground. I like how the woman in red is still in focus and sharp even with something blocking her. This image was take at an aperture of f5.6 with a shutter speed of 1/160.

Leave a Reply

