Stories: Brandon Trust Art Club

On Wednesday 7th December, I attended one of the Brandon Trust’s art clubs in Brockworth. It was a small group held in the skittle ally of the Victoria pub, and this week they were painting Christmas trees. It was lovely to be so well received by the residents, who enjoyed showing me their work and got excited everytime my flash went off.
I am not overly happy with the images as they came out quite dark. I had a speedlight with me, however the skittle ally was dimly lit and the light from the windows was sparse due to being an overcast day. Due to this, I had to have quite a slow shutter speed on my images to allow for a large aperture (the largest I could achieve on this occasion was f5).

dsc_048jpeg

As you can see, the images were highly noisy due to ISO’s of 800 and 1600. This image was taken at an aperture of 5.6, a shutter speed of 1/15 sec. and an ISO of 800. I like this image because it shows a relatively shallow depth of field. I was focused on the mug, and I like how the mug and the mince pie tins are in focus and everything else is blurred, yet you can still see the details of everything else. I feel like this shows the story of the art club because of the mess; while I was there a lot of things were spilt and a lot of mess in general was made, and I feel this photo presents that. I dislike, however, the noise in the image, but the noise is unfortunately present in a lot of these images from today.

dsc_0495jpeg

As I didn’t have adequate consent given, I was not allowed to take images of the residents faces, so I decided to try and focus on hands as there is a lot of detail in the hands of these elder residents. I particularly like this image due to the detail in her hands, and the use of a shallow depth of field. I like the fact also, that there is a small smudge of green paint on her finger, tying the image into the fact  that they are at an art club. This image was taken at an aperture of f5.6, a shutter speed of 1/15 sec. and an ISO of 1600.

dsc_0444jpeg

This picture was taken at an aperture of f5.6, a shutter speed of 1/25 sec. and an ISO of 1600. Again, I like the detail in her hand and arm.

dsc_0464jpeg

This image was taken at an aperture of f5.6, a shutter speed of 1/125 sec. and an ISO of 1600. I used a slightly faster shutter speed to the others as in this position there was more light from the window, so I felt I could compensate for that.

dsc_0498jpeg

This image was taken at an aperture of f6.3, a shutter speed of 1/40 sec. and an ISO of 1600. Again, at this position there was direct sunlight from the window, so I used that with the speedlight to generate a brighter image. Like before, I like how she has paint on her hands to show the story of the art club.

dsc_0504jpeg

This image was taken at an aperture of f6.3, a shutter speed of 1/40 sec. and an ISO of 1600.

dsc_0515jpeg

I like this image because all of the art supplies make a great frame around the paint pot, and the vibrancy of the yellow paint pulls the viewer into the centre of the image. This image was taken in the natural lighting of the window, as it was right next to it. This was an aperture of f8, a shutter speed of 1/25 sec. and an ISO of 1600.

dsc_0521jpeg

This image has a mixture of the natural lighting from the window, and the speedlight. This has an aperture of f9, a shutter speed of 1/25 sec. and an ISO of 1600.

 

 

Leave a Reply

