Stories: Brandon Trust Christmas Party

On the 12th December, The Brandon Trust held a small Christmas party at The Victoria in Brockworth for some of their residents and their skittles team. Attending this made me realise that I need to do a lot more experimentation with lighting as the issue arose that my flash ran out of charge about an hour into the evening and therefore a lot of my images were less than perfect from then on. The event being in the dim lit skittle ally of the pub made it very difficult to get any usable images when not using a speedlight, and when using the pop up flash on my camera I personally disliked how the images looked. However, I did manage to get a few usable images.

dsc_0443jpeg

The above image is my personal favourite from the night. This man was lovely to me from the moment I walked into the skittle ally, being the first person to come and shake my hand and introduce himself to me. This photo was taken with the speedlight, at an ISO of 200, at f/6.3 and a shutter speed of 1/125. I like this image because it is very simple, and I feel simplicity is key in achieving a good image.

dsc_0449jpeg

This image was also taken while the speedlight had charge. This was also taken at an ISO of 200, at f/5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/125.

I like these two images because this lady was just so innocent in the way she spoke and acted around everybody, and I think the images show that in a way. I think these are shown through the body language by the other individuals who are taking to her, by tilting their heads and smiling and raising their eyebrows. Again, these photos are quite simple, which allows a viewer to read into it however they like. These were taken with my pop up flash, using an ISO of 800 at f/14 and a shutter speed of 1/125.

I personally am not overly fond of these images as they were taken from the other side of the room with only my pop up flash, so there is nothing of amazing quality in them. However, this man was constantly posing for me everytime the camera was pointed in his direction, which I found so heartwarming, therefore I feel these images do help to tell a story due to this. These were taken at an ISO of 800, at f/14 (the second one f/13) and a shutter speed of 1/125.

Leave a Reply

