Evaluation – Prosperity and Austerity

This project, in terms of final prints, was my least favourite. I couldn’t come up with an edit which portrayed the message which I wanted to portray. I think the fact that I decided to use Christmas Day as my idea for this project was not the best as I only had one day to get the pictures, and also having to try and get these shots along with spending the day with my family and enjoying myself, I found it hard to juggle the two.

My favourite image from this project, is the one below. This is purely because I feel this is the only technically good one. I like the sharpness of the crackers, and I like how there are reflections in them. I also like how it all surrounds just one colour – blue – which I feel ties in to the theme of Christmas and winter quite well.

My least favourite image is the one further below. When I chose this image I thought it was an okay quality image, compared to the others I took of a similar theme. However, when printed I felt it was very soft and out of focus, and I did not like the final print of it.
Overall, I feel I could have done better on this shoot. In future I will not choose a theme which I can only shoot in a day without being highly prepared, and perhaps not as involved in it, therefore giving me the opportunity to take the images without needing to join in between shoots.

s1510906austerityandprosperity3jpeg

s1510906austerityandprosperity2

Leave a Reply

