Photo Story (AD4802) – Artist Research: Allister Ann

Although I am going to be using digital photography for my Photo Story project, I am interested in Allister Ann’s use of film when documenting musicians. I particularly like her use of black and white film when photographing Cold War Kids.

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 12.48.55Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 12.49.07Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 12.48.46Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 12.48.39Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 12.48.32Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 12.45.46

When I think of band/music photography, I tend to think of photographing the concerts and interactions with fans etc. However, I like this look into recording an album, I feel she has captured something which only a select group of people are going to have seen, and I feel it’s important for the fans to see something like this, as I don’t feel people appreciate just how much time and effort goes into creating an album. I feel her use of black and white film adds to this idea of it being a long process and makes the images seem a lot more raw and emotional.

I also like the fact that not all of the images are of them performing. She has included an image of their musical notes which further shows something that fans will not have normally seen. It also shows the complexity behind actually playing the instruments, and again, only a select amount of people will understand it or will be able to have access to it.

Leave a Reply

