Photo Story (AD4802) – Fawner Shoot 2

On the 12th of February, an event was being held at Frog and Fiddle to showcase the musicians studying at University of Gloucestershire. Fawner was evidently one of those bands, so I was asked to come along to spend the day with them – from rehearsal to the gig. I took my speedlight with me as I knew I would need to use flash with the gig, however I had issues with it so had to go with either using the lights which were on them, or the flash on my camera, so I am not overly happy with the images from the evening, however the next time I will make sure that all of my equipment is up to standards.

dsc_0004

I like the above image because of the shallow depth of field. I feel this image would work quite well as an establishing shot in a photo story. It was taken with an ISO of 800, at f5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/30.

I like the fact that these two images are quite dimly lit, I feel it adds to the aesthetic of the band in a way, and I feel the limited highlights are quite affective in making a simple frame still look good. These were both taken with an ISO of 800, the first was taken at f5.6 at 1/60, and the second one was taken at f5.6 at 1/80.

dsc_0006

This image is clearly quite similar to a couple taken at the first rehearsal, however I like how as this was daytime, there is a little bit more light to work with from the window. This was taken at f5.6 at a shutter speed of 1/30. (Again, at an ISO of 800).

DSC_0113-.jpg

The evening images, as mentioned before, were taken using my pop up flash, which didn’t allow for huge amounts of detail to be lit in the photos. However, I like how the colours in Conor’s top pop in this image. I feel those are what draws your eyes into the image. This was taken with an ISO of 400, at f18, and a shutter speed of 1/160.

dsc_0134

I chose to use black and white for this image because I feel she looked very “grungy” in it and I felt it warranted a bit of black and white to add to this idea. I like the simplicity of this image and feel it would work as a big image in a photo story. This was taken at an ISO of 400, at f9 and a shutter speed of 1/160.

dsc_0135

I feel this photo does well in adding to the idea of being quite a grunge-like band. I like how the yellow in her shirt and the pink in her hair are highlighted, and overall it’s a very candid image. It was taken at an ISO of 400, an F-stop of 13 and a shutter speed of 1/160.

DSC_0190.jpg

This was one of the images taken using the available lighting in the room, but I feel it really worked. Similar to one of my previous images of Conor, the lighting allows for small amounts to be highlighted, but I feel it perfectly shows the passion going into the music, and there’s also a slight bit of movement in there, which all ties in with this passion. This was taken at an ISO of 800, at f5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/30.

dsc_0204

Again, much like the previous image, this represents the passion going into playing music. I like how there are clearly things breaking up the image, but you can still see the intended subject. This was taken at an ISO of 800, F-stop of f13 and a shutter speed of 1/50.

Leave a Reply

