Photo Story (AD4802) – Artist Research: Navid Mughal’s Silhouette Photography

When shooting the band for my Photo Story, I’d like to try and incorporate silhouettes into their performances using the stage lighting. David Mughal has a project on silhouettes in nature, using natural lighting and subjects such as animals and trees.

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 12.30.35.png

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 12.33.58.png

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 12.34.06.png

I like these images as they are bright and colourful and the harsh black silhouette allows it to look much like a fine art genre of photography. His images also present a certain stillness, which, although there is a lot of movement on stage when performing, I would almost like to capture with Fawner. I feel by presenting a still silhouette on the stage, it’ll allow an audience to see the band as quite mysterious and therefore want to know more about these individuals. Also, they are an indie/emo band so I feel that a certain amount of anonymity could work well with their aesthetic.

To achieve this look, I will need to use an f-stop of around 8.0 or higher, to achieve a large depth of field to allow for everything to be sharp and in focus. However, when shooting in quite a dark venue, I may need to focus on a much smaller number to allow for enough light to actually form the image, so maybe 2.8 and then a very high shutter speed, such as 1/250. I feel this will be enough to freeze movement and create the silhouette effect that I would like.

Leave a Reply

