Studio (AD4803) – Portaits

For our studio module, we were asked to take studio portraits of an individual we knew and an individual we didn’t know. For this I chose my coursemate Christina, and her flat mate Ffion. I was aprehensive about taking photos in the studio as my knowledge of studio lighting and equipment has never been very good, however once I established what I was doing I quite enjoyed it.

I decided to keep the lighting set up the same with both subjects, just because I wanted the same tones to both images. I chose a single light slightly in front to the left of the subject, as to light up their faces. The light meter read at an ISO of 100, f20 at a shutter speed of 1/125 sec. so all my settings were constant throughout.

Portrait of someone you know

DSC_0164-

DSC_0201-

Portrait of someone you don’t know;

DSC_0175.jpg

DSC_0176-.jpg

With all the images I had to slightly alter the temperature in Lightroom as they seemed slightly desaturated, however I am happy overall.

Leave a Reply

