Photo Story (AD4802) – Final Video

I have finalised my sequence and layout of my video, and I’m very happy with the outcome. I decided on a specific sequence to go with the music and to showcase the images in a way which tells a story.

I decided on a simple black page with white writing for the title page. I used the same font as I did in my photo story to allow it all to tie in together, along with the same title. I had the title page on screen for 5 seconds, which worked well with the opening to the song which I used for the audio – the bass beginning goes on for 5 seconds, then the drums kick in as the next image comes on screen, which I feel works really well.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.43.00.png

This is my second image in the video. I felt I needed to have an image of the whole band for an establishing shot, and although this technically doesn’t have the whole band, I feel this was the best one to use, as they are all “in action”, whether that be singing or playing their instruments. There is slight movement in the image, on Courteney and Chris, however it doesn’t take over the whole image so I am not worried about it.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.48.23

I chose this one for the second image as it links in with the previous image with all of them playing their instruments. I also like the depth of field in this, the neck of the guitar being the main focus yet still recognising Chris and Conor. I feel the red is a good way to carry on from the previous image also, and due to the rehearsal room being red/orange, is a continuous colour throughout the video.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.53.17.png

I feel this image goes on well from the previous image also, because it almost zooms in and focuses on Chris; one of the members in the previous image. The first three images are almost slowly zooming out, from showing all of them, to two of them, and then one of them, almost exploring the band really early in. I decided to use rehearsal images to start with simply because they have to rehearse before performing, so I feel it flows better to have it this way as though telling the story.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.56.56.png

Again, I chose to focus on another band member to further explore the band. I personally am not the biggest fan of this image due to the light on her hair, however I feel it’s the best image of Courteney singing and I felt a close up image would contrast well with the pulled back image previously used.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 11.58.36.png

Although this is the same idea of focusing on one band member, I felt that focusing on an instrument would explore an extension of the individual. I like how the light lands on Conor’s hands in this picture and shows the veins, I feel it gives a more personal element and, although the image is of the instrument overall, the hands further tell the viewer that there is an individual here also.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 12.02.57

Although this image was my establishing image for my photo story, I felt that I would allow other images to show more importance in the video. I didn’t want to start my video with too dark an image either as the start of the song doesn’t really go with a very dark image, so by starting off with the bright photo of all of the band I feel it establishes their personalities before establishing their music.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 12.20.28.pngBefore including images of performances, I thought I would include an image of the band members socially. I like this image because it’s very warm. Again, I like Conor’s hands in the photo as they have details and you’re instantly drawn to the hand on the face, and then to the band members.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 12.23.10.png

Another image of the whole band together (minus Chris), which I personally really like because of the viewpoint being behind the drums. I like the movement of the drummer against the stillness of the rest of the image, and I also like how there is a lot of the floor in it, which I feel makes it look slightly distorted.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 12.36.47.png

This image links with the previous image with the involvement of the drums. It also links with the second image with having Chris and Conor in frame but not in focus.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 12.42.50.png

This photo further links the orange tones together. I like the slight movement at the end of the guitar in this image, and I like Conor’s stance. I dislike how bright the light is on his hand, however overall I like the image and I feel his stance allows to show who the band is, showing his passion when playing the instrument.

DSC_0208-.jpg

This image also works well to show the passion going into the playing of the instruments; his body language suggests that he’s slightly stressed.

DSC_0031-.jpg

I think this photo is very similar to the second image in the video, and I’ve put it here in the sequence to almost show repetition – how much the band has to do the same things over and over. It also suggests going in a circle in a way as this is the last image in the video of a rehearsal. Also, the way the guitars are positioned, almost points to the image coming next.

DSC_0153.jpg

I like this image due to the way the whole image is coloured by the stage lights. I also like the aspect of focusing on the instrument again, like I have done previously, with the hands as a human dimension.

DSC_0234-.jpg

This is the last image in the sequence. I felt I wanted to end with Courteney as she is the singer, so I feel it works well to have the last thing you see to be the singer along with the last thing you can hear. Again, I like how the stage lights have completely coloured this image.

Overall I am happy with my video. I regret not having more images to work with as some I felt were very noisy, even after being rendered on Premiere, so in future I would make sure I had at least 5 or more shoots to work with. Nevertheless, I like how the music works with the imagery and I feel the sequence tells the narrative well.

Leave a Reply

