Street (AD4803) – Forming a Narrative

For this module, we need to produce a 20 image narrative, with a final print of 6 images. I have established on a previous blog post that my narrative is going to be named “Look Up, Look Down” and is going to portray Bristol through purely looking up or down, rather than looking straight ahead. I came up with this idea when I first took these images of buildings on a gloomy day;

I liked the feeling of power this gave and how overwhelming they feel to look at, as you feel you are also looking up at these buildings. I decided to further look into doing more of these as I found them really interesting to do.

I then went on to do a day of looking up and down in Bristol, as told in this blog post: https://zharrisphotography.wordpress.com/2017/03/30/street-ad4803-look-up-look-down/. I now have to form an overall narrative from all of my images, that I feel tells a story of walking around Bristol.
The first image will be an establishing shot, which can either tell you that this is Bristol, or will explain in one image what this photo series is about. I would like to use one of the above images because they are very strong images, however I feel like I need a brighter coloured image for my establishing shot, to draw viewers into the series, rather than give them an uneasy feeling when looking at a quite visually dull image such as those two. I have a few which I could use;

All of these images are strong, and the sky is a lot more inviting than the grey sky in the images before. The first image would work well as it doesn’t really give much away which could be quite intriguing to somebody viewing it. I like how the sky isn’t quite one continuous colour with the white halo around the silhouette, so it allows the image to look a lot more realistic than having a continuous blue and almost looking manipulated or false. The second image I like but I feel like there is perhaps too much going on in it to be an establishing shot – you want a simple yet effective image for an establishing shot and I feel with more than one building it takes you slightly longer to get your head around it than a more simple image. The middle image I feel would be as effective as using one of the grey ones, as it is a good quality image and is interesting to look at. I also really like the blue on blue concept. The last image I said in my original blog post that I would like to use as an establishing shot because I feel its really interesting to look at due to the wheel standing out quite strongly from the sky, and the silhouette in the foreground adds another layer to it, making it look quite unrealistic but still looks not false. Due to them all having blue in them, the images would not be placed near to each other in a series, as I feel like it’d be too much blue and when you are photographing a city it’s just unfeasible that the weather is going to be consistently nice like that.

In regards to the “Look Up, Look Down” concept, I need to have a good mixture of both up and down themed images. I don’t think it’s overly important to have the same amount of each, but a good balance and a good pattern of them I feel is important. I know that overall I have more images looking up, but I feel there are more points of interest when looking up, and more variety in imagery, whereas when looking down, yes there can be interesting things, but essentially you will always be looking at the same kind of thing. I don’t feel that this takes away from my idea, as I feel my idea is strong, but overall I do feel I have stronger images of the looking up aspect, and therefore will use slightly more of these images in my series.

I’m unsure as to whether I should link the looking up and looking down images together in the sequence, for example, trying to match colours etc. I may have to play around with this concept, but I feel it would be quite interesting to see how the colours can be portrayed in both circumstances. However, my main colours in the looking up images seem to be blue, which I don’t have a lot of when looking down, so it may be quite difficult to do this.
However, a good way to link images could be how I’ve done so below – by using similar shapes or patterns in them. I feel it’s a subtle yet affective way to link the different perspectives; as you can see, the lines go in similar directions, which I feel is a better way to match images together than using colour.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

